Cabbage!

Cabbage, a familiar kitchen garden Vegetable about as large and wise as a man’s head.
Cabbage!

Cabbage!

And when we talk about Red cabbage, which actually is purple in color,   provides higher levels of vitamins A and C than other types of cabbage do, and its bright color is always beautiful on the plate.
How to Grow : –
Before we start anything further, do you know cabbage is a cold climate vegetable. (not very cold, just enough)
Growing this vegetable totally depends on where you are living. Some one like me, who lives in a sub-tropical weather sowed the seeds in April.
After 10 days, seedlings arrived.
Cabbage Seedlings

Cabbage Seedlings

Cabbage Seedlings

Cabbage Seedlings

As far as kind of pot is concern, they don’t need big pots as their roots are very small. But they do need to be separated and kept with at least 10-12 inches gap between them.
DSC_1286 DSC_1154 DSC_1271

Although cabbage can tolerate shade they will do much better in a sunny spot. SUNNY SPOT! Not Hot direct sunlight for long.

Shelter is very beneficial. and Avoid soil that becomes waterlogged or conversely dries out rapidly.

Keep the soil around the cabbage weed-free. Take care when weeding because the roots are easily damaged. Remove any yellow leaves or those badly damaged by caterpillar or slug attack as you go.

DSC_1665

Once I saw how suffocated they were… I left only 4 seedlings in the pot.

DSC_2120

And then in another 3 weeks, they looked like this 🙂

Cabbage can be harvested anytime after the heads form. For highest yield, cut the cabbage heads when they are solid (firm to hand pressure) but before they crack or split. When heads are mature, a sudden heavy rain may cause heads to crack or split wide open. The exposed internal tissue soon becomes unusable. Harvest and salvage split heads as soon as possible after they are discovered.

Cabbage leaves doesn’t like lot of water falling on them, so make sure when you water you don’t spill water on the leaves, it makes them yellow and useless.

DSC_1990

Cabbage!

Cabbage!

DSC_2122 DSC_2365 DSC_2368

HAPPY GERMINATING!

21 responses to “Cabbage!

    • Hi christina, I use mine in salad. they taste sweet.
      Will surely try your method too. 🙂
      There are more posts in my blog. Do check them. I hope you enjoy them too.
      More to come 🙂

  1. Nice information. In cold climate like here in NJ, they cannot be grown during summer as they will bolt in the heat. Do you grow them in pots? How big are the pots?

    • Hi KL, I grew them in rainy season. At that time, temp in mumbai(india) was 18-25 degrees Celsius.
      I kept them in shade, they were getting filtered sunlight and were kept in 8 inch height pot. As you can see they did well enough. 🙂
      HAPPY GERMINATING

  2. Great post! I got your comment on my blog. I do absolutely nothing with vegetables but when it comes to ornamental plants, I am passionate about gardening. You said you are new to gardening… this is a life-time sport I must say… I began shortly after getting married 42 years ago… each year it becomes increasingly exciting. For me, gardening is almost an obsession… the joy it brings is overwhelming. I hope you can come to love it as much as I do… maybe you are there already. Take care and best of luck!
    Larry at Conrad Art Glass & Gardens

    • Hi Larry,
      Thanks for stopping by. I started gardening in April this year and then never stopped. And I think I am already there as far as loving it is concern. More love than that, will be to much take 😉
      There are many more to come… I am growing zuchini,bitter guard, brinjal and many diff flowers right now.
      Looking forward to it, stay tune. 🙂
      Thanks for the support.
      Wishes and good luck to you too.
      Say hi to your plants from my side 😉

      HAPPY GERMINATING!

  3. Thanks for visiting my blog.
    A useful post and your cabbages look very healthy. I don’t grow any veg but if I was going to give cabbage a go, then I know where to come for some tips 🙂

Leave a Reply

