Cosmos!

COSMOS

DSC_2536

Funny story with this one, I had planted the seeds in the small plastic pot (Chinese take away, to be exact). Didn’t name it, didn’t keep the tag. I had no idea what they were when seedlings arrived. If it could get more confusing, the same plastic pot also had marigold seedlings.

JUST cover the seeds…don’t bury the little gems like they are Diamonds 🙂
Well this is how the seedlings look like. DSC_1926UST cover the seeds…don’t bury the little gems like they are pirate booty.

Cosmos seedlings

Cosmos seedlings

 

Cosmos are prized for their abundant, silky petal flowers and their unflappable, easy-care nature in the garden. When I say easy, I mean easy.. I had forgotten to water this plant so many many times.  Which means it is heat tolerant too.

Cosmos are simple and inexpensive to grow from seeds. Plant them in full sun (in very hot regions, cosmos can take afternoon shade) and give them protection from strong winds. (I didn’t give them any protection) And they survived rain and storm of Mumbai. 😉

Cosmos tolerates a wide range of soil types, including poor soil.
After few weeks 🙂

Tip to seed – Just cover the seeds, don’t bury them like Diamonds 😉

DSC_2018

Cosmos will attract a myriad of butterflies and is also self-sowing so don’t be surprised if more pop up in odd places the following year. It truly is one of the easiest and most rewarding annuals to grow and nowadays there are lots of varieties to choose from.  Mine are called Purity. 🙂

In another month –

Flower buds

Flower buds

DSC_2388

And then flower!!!

After seeing them, I realized. They are COSMOS 🙂

I shifted them to a relatively big Pot.

DSC_2534 DSC_2535 DSC_2539 DSC_2540 DSC_2540

At the end of the season don’t rush to pull them out, the seed heads provide valuable food for our feathered friends.
To harvest more seeds, remember to leave a few flowers on the plant because they will self-seed.
OR If you plan to make a bouquet
Cut the blossoms on good stems when they first open, they’ll last more than a week in water.
DSC_2540

DO you know, Cosmos, which comes from the Greek word kosmos, meaning “beautiful.”

                                                   HAPPY GERMINATING!

7 responses to “Cosmos!

    • Hi jitesh, thanks for appreciating. I m a new gardener, loving and enjoying every bit of it. I been ordering seeds online on eBay, seedkart n few I bought from a gardening shop in boriwali.
      Keep in touch. Many more to come.

  1. Thanks Jitesh! It’s comments like this.. makes me blog more and more. Many many more flowers to come. So stay tune and as far as germinating… Get to it! My fav part of gardening is sowing the seeds and the anticipation that follows with it.
    HAPPY GERMINATING!

  2. Hi Shipra, you know I bought cosmos plants yellow and orange sometime back from from a nursery because of the vibrant colors. They just died 😦 both of them.. fortunately I have collected seeds from the seed pods.. but as I said earlier.. I have no sun at this point in my apt except 2 hrs in the afternoon.. I used to get about 3-4 hrs in all balconies.. may be I will try planting seeds in the summer..and hopefully see them bloom.

Leave a Reply

